Thoughts About Why People Collect Art

j. McCarthy
2 min readJan 28, 2021

--

Does it need to be more than just a pretty picture to have collector-value?

Image courtesy of Unsplash @ryanchan.

As an artist at some point you ask yourself, “Why do people collect art? And, why would people want to collect my art?”

The answer to my questions came in the form of another question: Why do I collect art? I collect art because I either find an inspiration with the artist or make a connection with the artwork. Whether it’s a photograph of a place I have been or a painting from the artists mind. The latter is typically more true for me. In either case, in order for me to consider spending a considerable amount of money on a piece of art it needs to connect and be more than a pretty picture.

By “connect” I mean either triggering a memory, rousing an emotion or just making me stop and be inspired; explore the journey my eyes are taking me on.

For me, those artists include photographers like Charlie Waite, Ansel Adams, Carleton Watkins, Vivian Maier and Parvez S; painters such as Leonid Afremov, Thomas Kinkade and Don Davey. Each has a place in my home which reminds me of a place in my heart.

However, collecting art for some people isn’t a connection at all. It’s an investment (short or long-term) or even perhaps a symbol of their success within their social circle. This type of collector sees the arts beauty in its value. This is not to say that they only desire to collect Monets, Picasos, Salvador Dalis and Liks, but they look for established artists with unique limited editions or historical importance that will promise financial maturity over time.

Finally you have the collector who collects because they like art (a pretty picture or unique sculpture), perhaps even appreciate the creative process and want to support the artist, and art community, regardless of establishment or value. They simply like what they see and buy it so they too can appreciate its beauty in their home.

What type of collector are you? And, why would you want to collect my art? That’s for another field note on another day.

Between now-and-then browse my online collections and tell me which ones are your favorites. Also, subscribe to my monthly newsletter and be one the first to know about my new limited edition releases and other projects.

Other articles to read next …

Life Begins at The End of Your Comfort Zone (also on Medium)

My Not-So Top-Secret Projects of 2021 (also on Medium)

When Life Gets Blurry Adjust Your Focus (also on Medium)

3 Places To Photograph Emotion and Spontaneity (also on Medium)

and my YouTube channel for product demos and my weekly vlog.

--

--